Anderson .Paak Salutes LeBron With New Song 'King James,' Shares 'Ventura' Album Track List

16/03/2019 byMichael Saponara

LeBron James defied the odds growing up in Akron to become one of the NBA’s all-time greats.

What’s just as impressive about the King has been his commitment to giving back to the community and making the world a better place than he found it. Anderson .Paak pays homage to LeBron with "King James," which kicked off the rollout of his Ventura project Friday (March 15).

Paak spotlights Colin Kaepernick essentially being blackballed by the NFL after taking a knee during the National Anthem back in 2016 on the tune’s second verse. Kap reached a settlement with the league on his collusion case earlier in 2019 for an undisclosed sum.

"We couldn't stand to see our children shot dead in the streets/ But when I finally took a knee/ Them crackers took me out the league/ Now I'm not much for games/ But I play for keeps/ And we salute King James for using his chains/ To create some equal opportunities,” he rhymes over the horn-tinged instrumental.

The Grammy-winning artist also unveiled the loaded track list for his Oxnard follow-up on Thursday (March 14). Ventura will include contributions from the likes of André 3000, Brandy, Jazmine Sullivan, Smokey Robinson, Lalah Hathaway, and a posthumous collab with Nate Dogg.

Stream "King James" and find the full track list below. Ventura releases April 12.

Ventura Track List:

1. “Come Home” (feat. André 3000)

2. “Make It Better” (feat. Smokey Robinson)

3. “Reachin’ 2 Much” (feat. Lalah Hathaway)

4. “Winners Circle”

5. “Good Heels” (feat. Jazmine Sullivan)

6. “Yada Yada”

7. “King James”

8. “Chosen One” (feat. Sonyae Elise)

9. “Jet Black” (feat. Brandy)

10. “Twilight”

11. “What Can We Do?” (feat. Nate Dogg)



  • 01
    Swalla Jason Derulo Featuring Nicki Minaj & Ty Dolla $ign
  • 02
    Chained to the Rhythm Katy Perry
  • 03
    Love Lana Del Ray
  • 04
    1990x MAXWELL
  • 05
    Permission Ro James

Sign up For Newsletter